The Mary Byron Project created the Celebrating Solutions Awards to showcase and applaud local innovations that demonstrate promise in breaking the cycle of violence. We select programs that can serve as models for the nation and offer $10,000 cash awards in recognition of their pioneering efforts. Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy, and other disciplines that address intimate partner violence.



We've extended the deadline to apply for the the 2018 Celebrating Solutions & Roth Awards. Apply by February 16th, 2018.  

Click here to download the application. 

Eligibility Criteria for Celebrating Solutions Awards:


  • The program’s primary focus must address the issue of intimate partner violence.


  • The nominated program, the agency or organization, and the core components of the program being nominated must have been operating for a minimum of three (3) years (established no later than December 31, 2013 for the 2017 award year.) The program must be in existence when the nomination is made.


  • The program must be part of a non-profit 501(c) (3) or government agency.


  • The program should be replicable, or if it is national in scope, the program should have applications for individual communities, regardless of their size or ethnic population.

Awards Process

There are two stages to the awards process. Stage one requires submission of a nomination form, program outline, and release. If your nomination advances to the second stage, you will be asked to provide additional information and letters of support. Do not send brochures, videos, annual reports, or any support materials for the first round of judging, as they will be discarded.

Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal justice, health care, and public policy. These individuals remain anonymous so their ability to judge the nominations will not be influenced by a relationship with a nominated organization.

Not Eligible for Celebrating Solutions Awards are:

  • Past Celebrating Solutions Award winners.


  • Organizations other than non-profit or governmental.


  • Organizations operating outside the United States or a U.S. territory.


  • Individuals.


  • Basic research.



  • Face Forward, Inc.
  • LifeWire, Housing Stability Service
  • Sojourner House, LGBTQ Advocacy and Education Program

2016 Winners


Commended Program Award

  • Jana's Campaign: Love Doesn't Hurt, Teen Gender Violence Prevention Program


2015 Winners


2014 Winners


2013 Winners

2012 Winners


2011 Winners


2010 Winners

2009 Winners



2008 Winners


2007 Winners


2006 Winners

2005 Winners 


2004 Winners


2003 Winners