The Roth Award

For Underserved Populations


The Roth Award has been created specifically for programs that address the needs of underserved populations. These programs provide services to  those who are identified as such based on characteristics that include age, race, ethnicity, gender, faith, disabilities,  low socio-economic status, non-English speaking,  sexual preference,  and surprisingly, victims from economically-comfortable suburban  areas who traditionally do not know how to avail themselves of services or who are too ashamed to find them. In general, there is a lack of resources for these specific populations, or the individuals have difficulty accessing available resources.

One award will be presented annually, in addition to the other four Celebrating Solutions Awards. Institutions that have applied in previous years are welcome to do so again. Eligible programs may be nominated for  both the Celebrating Solutions and  the  Roth Awards, but would only receive one $10,000 grant.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The program’s primary focus must address the issue of intimate partner violence.


  • The nominated program, the agency or organization, and the core components of the program being nominated must have been operating for a minimum of three (3) years (established no later than September 2009 for the 12-13 award year.) The program must be in existence when the nomination is made.


  • The program must be part of a non-profit 501(c) (3) or government agency.


  • The program should be replicable, or if it is national in scope, the program should have applications for individual communities, regardless of their size or ethnic population.

Awards Process:

There are two stages to the awards process. Stage one requires submission of a nomination form, release, and program outline. If your nomination advances to the second stage, you will be asked to provide additional information and letters of support.  Do not send brochures, videos, annual reports, or any support materials for the first round of judging, as they will be discarded.


Nominations are judged by a panel of experts in criminal  justice, health care, and public policy. These individuals remain anonymous so their ability to judge the nominations will not be influenced by a relationship with a nominated organization.


Not Eligible for the Roth Award are:


  • Past Roth Award winners.


  • Organizations other than non-profit or governmental.


  • Organizations operating outside the United States or a U.S. territory.


  • Individuals.


  • Basic research.

Click here to download the Roth Award nomination form. If you are experiencing technical difficulty when downloading the nomination form, please send an email to We will be happy to send you a copy of the form via fax or postal mail.  

2014 Winner

YWCA of Greater Cincinnati

The YWCA, the largest women's organization in the world, is an international movement with associations in 85 countries and over 400 American communities. The YWCA of Greater Cincinnati, the fifth association in the United States, was founded in 1868. In its early years, the YWCA established an employment bureau to find jobs for young women. It worked for minimum wages for women, championed protective labor laws for women and children, advocated for women's suffrage, was an early leader in job training for women of all races, and was at the forefront of racial justice advocacy. The mission of the YWCA of Greater Cincinnati is to empower women and to eliminate racism.




2013 Winner

Migrant Clinicians Network, Inc.: Hombres Unidos Contra la Violencia Familiar

Hombres Unidos Contra la Violencia Familiar, (Men United Against Family Violence),  engages Latino migrant men in group dialogue, facilitated by their peers, to learn about sexual and intimate partner violence together.  Using a peer educational approach, participants take ownership of the issue themselves, gain the skills and vocabulary to encourage others to develop healthy relationships, and become advocates against intimate partner violence.


MCN trains already trusted health outreach workers known in their community,   to recruit Latino migrant men with the understanding that all men must contribute to ending violence in the home.  They recruit by going door-to-door in migrant housing areas and by incorporating the program into their normal health outreach.


In a letter of support for their application, the Robert Woods Johnson Foundation stated, “(Migrant Clinicians Network) work with vulnerable men with a low socio-economic status, many of whom are non-English speaking, to become advocates against violence.  Hombres Unidos is filling a gap by addressing an important issue and one that is lacking resources…”

2012 Winner

Project S.A.R.A.H.

Project S.A.R.A.H. is an organization located in Clifton, New Jersey that provides domestic violence services for the Jewish community of New Jersey, in particular the Orthodox Jewish community. Among other things, Project S.A.R.A.H. hires speakers of key languages (Hebrew and Yiddish) to communicate with non-English-speaking members of the Jewish community. The organization also offers training for rabbis of all denominations and their spouses, child protective services workers, physicians, law enforcement officers, domestic violence response teams and shelter workers.

“We couldn’t have found a more deserving organization for our first Roth Award than Project S.A.R.A.H.,” said Mary Byron Project Executive Director, Marcia Roth. “The work they do makes a true difference in the lives of hundreds of people.”